Background on APEC Voices Leadership Council
The annual APEC Voices of the Future Program is primarily governed by the APEC Voices Leadership Council, which consists of the four permanent Co-Chairs from the APEC Economies of People’s Republic of China, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore, who are joined by the ex-officio Co-Chairs from the Host Economy and the Virtual Trade Mission (VTM) Foundation International. The Co-Chairs are ABAC Members, senior business leaders and educators, while the APEC Voices Secretariat is in Singapore, hosted by the Singapore Voices program in association with the National Youth Achievement Award Council of Singapore.

It is the hope of the APEC Voices Leadership Council that the annual APEC Voices of the Future Programme continues as an independent and self-sustaining youth leadership and educational diplomacy program within the APEC process. Up to this time, the APEC Voices of the Future Programme is funded solely by the respective Voices programmes and participating delegations from each APEC economy, and every member of the APEC Voices Leadership Council serves as a volunteer, receiving no compensation.

Honorary Advisors

Dr. Yang Yunsong
ABAC China

Mauricio Millan
ABAC Mexico
Tony Nowell
ABAC New Zealand
Martin Yuoon
Executive Director,
ABAC Singapore

Co-Chairs, APEC Voices Leadership Council

Xia Bing
People's Republic of China
Rafael Abrego Hinojosa
David Ward
New Zealand
James Soh PBM MBE
Noel Gould


Cooperation and Coordination with APEC and ABAC
The annual APEC Voices programme is organized and operated in cooperation and coordination with the APEC Secretariat, the ABAC Chair and ABAC Host Committee, the Official APEC Host Committee, and the APEC CEO Summit. Following the principles of consensus and flexibility which guide APEC, each year the APEC Voices Leadership Team works with all these offices and officials to plan the annual APEC Voices programme in the way that works best for the APEC Host Economy and the supporting organizations, events and venues, which provide the APEC-engaged learning experiences for our students and educators.